The Dioceses in the order of their creation





Canterbury	597	Canterbury
London	604	Canterbury
Rochester	604	Canterbury
York	625	York
Winchester	662	Canterbury
Lichfield	669	Canterbury
Hereford	676	Canterbury
Worcester	680	Canterbury
Bath & Wells	909	Canterbury
Durham	995	York
Exeter	1050	Canterbury
Lincoln	1072	Canterbury
Chichester	1075	Canterbury
Salisbury	1078	Canterbury
Norwich	1091 (1070)	Canterbury
Ely	1109	Canterbury
Carlisle	1133	York
Sodor & Man	1154	York
Chester	1541	York
Gloucester	1541	Canterbury
Peterborough	1541	Canterbury
Bristol	1542	Canterbury
Oxford	1542	Canterbury
Ripon & Leeds*	1836	York
Gibraltar in Europe	1842	Canterbury
Manchester	1847	York
Truro	1876	Canterbury
St Albans	1877	Canterbury
Liverpool	1880	York

Newcastle	1882	York
Southwell & Nottingham	1884	York
Wakefield*	1888	York
Southwark	1905	Canterbury
Birmingham	1906	Canterbury
Chelmsford	1914	Canterbury
St Edmundsbury & Ipswich	1914	Canterbury
Sheffield	1914	York
Coventry	1918	Canterbury
Bradford*	1920	York
Blackburn	1926	York
Derby	1927	Canterbury
Guildford	1927	Canterbury
Leicester	1927	Canterbury
Portsmouth	1927	Canterbury
West Yorkshire & the Dales*	2014	Amalgamated Diocese

Diocese	Province	Territory	Cathedral	Founded
Bath and Wells (Bishop of Bath and Wells)	Canterbury	Somerset	Wells Cathedral	909
Birmingham (Bishop of Birmingham)	Canterbury	West Midlands metropolitan county (except Coventry, Walsall and Wolverhampton), North Warwickshire	Birmingham Cathedral	1906, from Worcester
Blackburn (Bishop of Blackburn)	York	Lancashire (except West Lancashire and part of Ribble Valley)	Blackburn Cathedral	1926, from Manchester
Bradford (Bishop of Bradford)	York	Bradford, Craven, part of Ribble Valley	Bradford Cathedral	1920, from Ripon
Bristol (Bishop of Bristol)	Canterbury	Bristol, South Gloucestershire, Swindon, part of North Wiltshire	Bristol Cathedral	1542
Canterbury (Archbishop of Canterbury)	Canterbury	Eastern Kent	Canterbury Cathedral	597
Carlisle (Bishop of Carlisle)	York	Cumbria	Carlisle Cathedral	1133
Chelmsford (Bishop of Chelmsford)	Canterbury	Essex (traditional borders, including London boroughs of Waltham Forest, Redbridge, Havering, Newham and Barking & Dagenham)	Chelmsford Cathedral	1914, from St Albans

Chester (Bishop of Chester)	York	Cheshire (except North Warrington), Wirral, part of Stockport	Chester Cathedral	1541
Chichester (Bishop of Chichester)	Canterbury	Sussex	Chichester Cathedral	1075
Coventry (Bishop of Coventry)	Canterbury	Coventry, Warwickshire (except North Warwickshire)	Coventry Cathedral	1918, from Worcester
Derby (Bishop of Derby)	Canterbury	Derbyshire	Derby Cathedral	1927, from Southwell
Durham (Bishop of Durham)	York	County Durham (except Teesdale), Tyne and Wear south of the River Tyne	Durham Cathedral	995
Ely (Bishop of Ely)	Canterbury	Cambridgeshire (except the Soke of Peterborough) and west Norfolk	Ely Cathedral	1109
Exeter (Bishop of Exeter)	Canterbury	Devon	Exeter Cathedral	1050
Gibraltar in Europe (Bishop of Gibraltar in Europe)	Canterbury	Continental Europe, Morocco, former Soviet Union, Turkey	Gibraltar Cathedral	1842
Gloucester (Bishop of Gloucester)	Canterbury	Gloucestershire (except South Gloucestershire)	Gloucester Cathedral	1541

Guildford (Bishop of Guildford)	Canterbury	Surrey (except Tandridge), part of East Hampshire	Guildford Cathedral	1927, from Winchester
Hereford (Bishop of Hereford)	Canterbury	Herefordshire, South-Western Shropshire	Hereford Cathedral	676
Leicester (Bishop of Leicester)	Canterbury	Leicestershire	Leicester Cathedral	1927, from Peterborough
Lichfield (Bishop of Lichfield)	Canterbury	Staffordshire, Walsall, Wolverhampton, North-Eastern Shropshire	Lichfield Cathedral	669
Lincoln (Bishop of Lincoln)	Canterbury	Lincolnshire	Lincoln Cathedral	1072
Liverpool (Bishop of Liverpool)	York	Merseyside (except Wirral), Warrington, West Lancashire	Liverpool Cathedral	1880, from Chester
London (Bishop of London)	Canterbury	Middlesex	St Paul's Cathedral	604
Manchester (Bishop of Manchester)	York	Greater Manchester (except most of Stockport)	Manchester Cathedral	1847, from Chester
Newcastle (Bishop of Newcastle)	York	Northumberland, Tyne and Wear north of the River Tyne	Newcastle Cathedral	1882, from Durham

Norwich (Bishop of Norwich)	Canterbury	Norfolk	Norwich Cathedral	1091 (from Elmham (673) via Thetford (1070))
Oxford (Bishop of Oxford)	Canterbury	Oxfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Berkshire (except Spelthorne)	Oxford Cathedral	1542
Peterborough (Bishop of Peterborough)	Canterbury	Soke of Peterborough, Northamptonshire, Rutland	Peterborough Cathedral	1541
Portsmouth (Bishop of Portsmouth)	Canterbury	South-Eastern Hampshire, the Isle of Wight	Portsmouth Cathedral	1927, from Winchester
Ripon and Leeds (Bishop of Ripon and Leeds)	York	Leeds, Western North Yorkshire, Teesdale	Ripon Cathedral	1836, from York
Rochester (Bishop of Rochester)	Canterbury	Western Kent	Rochester Cathedral	604
St Albans (Bishop of St Albans)	Canterbury	Hertfordshire (except part of Broxbourne), Bedfordshire, part of Barnet	St Albans Cathedral	1877, from Rochester
St Edmundsbury and Ipswich (Bishop of St Edmundsbury and Ipswich)	Canterbury	Suffolk	Bury St Edmunds Cathedral	1914, from Ely and Norwich
Salisbury (Bishop of Salisbury)	Canterbury	Wiltshire (except Swindon and part of North Wiltshire), Dorset	Salisbury Cathedral	1078

Sheffield (Bishop of Sheffield)	York	Sheffield, Rotherham, Doncaster	Sheffield Cathedral	1914, from York
Sodor and Man (Bishop of Sodor and Man)	York	The Isle of Man	Peel Cathedral	1154
Southwark (Bishop of Southwark)	Canterbury	Greater London south of the River Thames, Tandridge	Southwark Cathedral	1905, from Rochester
Southwell and Nottingham (Bishop of Southwell and Nottingham)	York	Nottinghamshire	Southwell Minster	1884, from Lichfield/Lincoln
Truro (Bishop of Truro)	Canterbury	Cornwall	Truro Cathedral	1876, from Exeter
Wakefield (Bishop of Wakefield)	York	Wakefield, Barnsley, Kirklees, Calderdale	Wakefield Cathedral	1888, from Ripon
Winchester (Bishop of Winchester)	Canterbury	Northern and Western Hampshire, the Channel Islands	Winchester Cathedral	662
Worcester (Bishop of Worcester)	Canterbury	Worcestershire	Worcester Cathedral	680
York (Archbishop of York)	York	City of York, East Riding of Yorkshire, Hull, Eastern North Yorkshire	York Minster	625